Looking for Love in the Wrong Places

So, I think I am getting fed up with online dating.  It is getting more and more annoying. I am having difficulty finding anyone that I am interested in, am tired of men checking out in the middle of the conversation (aka ghosting), frustrated that my messages do not get responses, and am done with guys who are only looking for hook ups.  Online dating is a lot more work than being single.  It feels like it is a second job and you know what, it sucks big time!

I am looking to meet a man with whom I can connect with, we can learn about each other, and then we can begin a relationship.  The amount of of creepers and sleaze balls out there has really dampened my spirits about the world of online dating.  I guess that I have been looking for love in all the wrong places.

To make matters worse there are numerus people in my life who have recently met and connected with someone and are now in relationships or are getting engaged. They make the business of getting t know each other and entering a relationship look easy but here I am struggling and it is disheartening. It’s difficult to see people close to you start relationships, get engaged, or get married and here you are just trying to meet a man that is compatible with you.  I am excited for all of my friends having success in their relationships but I am wondering what is going so wrong for me.  I am putting myself out there, initiating conversations with men, and even suggesting getting coffee or an in person meeting.  I have even went on dates when men asked me out but usually after the first or second date it fizzles out.   All these other people make it look like a cake walk to meet men that are compatible with them.  Here I am putting myself out there to no avail and have not had anything progress.  I mean sometimes it is the man but other times I’m sure it is me.  I am at the point in life where I am comfortable with who I am.  I should not have to change or act a certain way to get someone to like me.  I am well past that point.  I just want to know what I am doing wrong that is keeping me in the single and undesirable zone.

All I want is to find a man and develop a connection with them that my friends have with their significant others.  Everyone else that I know has made it look easy and here I am struggling to keep my head above water looking for a man.  The only genuine connection that I have found so far was with my ex.  I would like a similar compatibility with someone else.  I know it will be different so no comparisons here.  I just want someone that I connect with on a the same level that I did with my ex.  I guess that I am looking for love in all the wrong places. I should heed the age old advice of you find what you are looking for when you stop looking for it. But I do find that as bad advice because it is like a sit an wait mentality and nothing is going to come knocking on your door.  You have to go seek it out and that is what I have been doing in this area of my life but it just hasn’t seemed to work out.

Maybe the below quote with  work out much better than the typical just sit and wait for love opinion


 

 

Leave a Reply

