First and Only Birchbox

So, I was so excited to order my first Birchbox for the month of December after hearing so many good things about it from friends.  Of course they convinced me to subscribe and I was excited to see that my BirchBox arrived in the mail this afternoon.  It was packaged nicely and liked that there was a card describing all of the products included in the box. Since this was a holiday box a small mirror was included. This is sweet but cannot be used for travel or in purse do to the fact that it is only one sided without a cover to protect the mirror.  So this item was a waste for the company to make and waste to place in the box.  This mirror will probably be headed to the trash because there is no way to keep it from getting scratched or broken.

Now on to the fun stuff!  The items in the box!  I am so happy that there were no perfume samples in here because I hate those.

IPKN Radiant Cream Primer

This is such a simple product design and it is so adorable!  This is a primer and has SPF 15 in it. I will let you know how this product feels and works.  I occasionally use primer in my makeup routine.  I should probably use primer more often than I should.  So I will let you know how it goes.

Real Chemistry Luminous 3 minute Peel

I am nervous about this product due to my sensitive skin.  This could irritate my skin so I’ll see what happens after I use it.  It will be my first peel mask.

Wilma Schumann European Skincare: Hydrating Collagen Eye Pads

This product looks very fancy.  I have not used eye pads before and am willing to try them out.  I am not a fan of these types of products and do not use anything like them in my skincare routine.  Since there is only one set of pads I do not know if I would be able to see a difference in the skin around my eyes after only one use.

Ardency Inn: Modster Eyeliner

This eyeliner is supposed to be waterproof so I will see if that is true.  I am not a fan of eyeliner and it is not part of my daily makeup routine.  I will try it or give it to a family member or friend to try it out and report on the results.

Amika: Perk Up Dry Shampoo

I am excited to try this dry shampoo!  It smells amazing and the bottle is adorable!  I due use dry shampoo on my hair so that I do not have to wash it or use the blow dryer on my hair.  I have seen a vast improvement in the quality of my hair from doing this.  I will have to let you know how it goes when I use this product.

Overall, I was not sure impressed with this box.  It is more like samples I could get from Sephora for products that I do not really use or need.  So far Birchbox does not seem like it is worth the money each month.  I will stay subscribed until next month to see what products are sent.  If I like the products I will stay subscribed.  It the products are lackluster I will stop subscribing to the service.  I’ll keep you posted.

Have any of you tried these products? If so, what do you think of them?

Also is Birchbox worth it in the long run?  I was not super impressed with my first box.

**An update to this post since it was written awhile ago and I have had time with the products that Birchbox sent to me.   All of the products seemed like quality products but were not ones I would use frequently with the exception of one product.  The dry shampoo I have loved so much.  It worked well and smells amazing!  Overall I was not impressed with the products sent to me and that can be due to the fact that I do not use many of those products.  I will not be subscribing to Birchbox again due to my lack of interest int he products of the first box. 

Leave a Reply

