Blogtember Day 12: September 12

Blogtember Day 12: Three books! One you just read, one you’re currently reading, and one you want to read.

One I Just Read: After You By: Jojo Moynes

9780525426592_custom-771e68183dad310e9eff4577f588179e46f0421a-s300-c85

One of my favorite books of 2015 is Me After You!  I couldn’t put the book down and stayed up late just to get to the end of the story.  I loved it so much!  It was a well written book and went beyond my expectations!

One I Am Currently Reading: Teacher Man By: Frank McCourt

mccourt

This is an amazing book and one that I can relate to on so many levels.  I like Frank am a teacher and the stuggles he covers in the book are real.  It is so sad how nothing has seemed to changed in the teaching world since he wrote the book.  What is even scarier is the fact that he recounts experiences from the sixties in which things such as low pay, horrible principals, and overworking have not changed.  This saddened me deeply but at this point it is what it is.  I am at then end of my rope with the career and am looking to break into another field.  Seriously, do not become a teacher it is not worth all of the stress.  Do a job where you make a living in which you can support yourself.

Anyway, ranting aside let me dive a bit into the book.  It is well written and honest.  McCourt does not sugarcoat things that he experienced and I believe that it accurately displays what it was like for certain people to be teachers during that time.  Frank struggled to find his niche in the teaching world.  He dealt with horrible principals, bureaucracy, and testy students.  Eventually he found his footing in the halls of Stuyvesant High School which is one of the top schools in the country!  McCourt was able to be different and really impact his students’ lives!  I loved it and found it so relatable!  If an individual wants a story about hard work, perseverance, and the true life and experiences of a teacher than read Teacher Man!

Ones I Want to Read: The Girl With the Lower Back Tatoo By: Amy Schumer and You are a Badass By: Sincero

books

cover_youareabadass

Honestly, it was hard to pick books for this one because my list is a mile long.  There are numerous books I want to read but there never is enough time to read them all.  It always feels like I keep adding more books than I finish.  I have heard that Amy Schumer’s book is hilarious and enjoyable.  I was skeptical at first due to the reading of Tina Fey’s and Mindy Kaling’s book being subpar.  I hated those books and it showed that most actors and comedians should stick to their respective fields.  But I keep hearing great things about Schumer’s books so I am excited to read it.

You are a Badass was the feature of a blogger’s post that I follow. It made it onto the August favorites book list.  Usually I stray away from self help books but this one seemed unique and different than the ones I’ve seen.  The blogger praised the book so of course I added it to my list of to be read books.  I’ll see what happens and which one I read first!  Hopefully neither of the books are disappointing reads!

Have you read any of the books above?  If so, what did you think of them and what books would you recommend?

 

Leave a Reply

