Montauk The End

Montauk, NY is my favorite place ever and if I could afford to live out there all summer long I most definitely would do it in a heartbeat! The only complaint I have about Montauk is the invasion of the yuppies in the past few years.  Montauk has always been a blue-collar, middle class, vacation town that was not yet infiltrated by stuck up rich people.  Unfortunately it has been taken over by

But, any who onto my favorite places of Montauk the End!!

Hither Hills State Park

hither hills Hither Hills campgrouns

My family has been camping here for about the past 18 years and have been visiting Montauk for the past 25 years.   Hither Hills was out go to vacation spot!  It is the place that I would count the days until our annual two week vacation.  Every summer we would load up the car, squeeze in, and make the four hour trek from our NYC home to this campground.  These were the best summers of my life and nothing in the world could replace the memories my family and I have had here.

Hither Hills is one of NY’s State Parks which features a campground for popups, tents, and campers located right on the beach.  It is so insanely popular that you need call about 6 months in advance to book a campsite.  It is extremely tough to get a campsite now days unless you do the CAP program where you volunteer to run softball, arts & crafts, the bonfire, rec room, and sandcastle contest and you camp free for two weeks.  My parents did this for years I think until I was about 19/2oish.  It was an absolute blast of a two weeks and one time we stayed three weeks!  A lifetime of memories and friendships were formed by traveling out east!  This place has become so intimate and you get to know like the back of your hand.  It is truly my second home and will always be.  My first home is NYC area and my second is Montauk.  There is no place else like it in the world!  I cannot wait for my next adventure here and it has not been this year but surely next summer or fall!  Also, there is a general store located at the campground which sells food, ice, and snacks.  Most of the items are way overpriced so you are better off getting things you need from town.  Also, the bacon, egg, and cheese sandwich from the grill is awesome!  That is something you should try!!

IGA

iga

This is the grocery store in town and nothing is summer in Montauk for us until we make a trip to IGA. It is small and crowded at times but it is the only place to go for groceries.  I think we still have a few plastic fork, spoons, and knives from IGA from our last trip to Montauk.

John’s Drive In

john;s drive in

One of our favorite stops in town!  This place is like a time trip and has not been updated for at least the past 15 years possibly more.  I swear the decor has been the same year after year and I do not mind that at all!  It is nice to go to a place that remains unchanged because it adds to the nostalgia of the place.   The ice cream is delicious and my go to flavor is Mint Chocolate Chip.  Fun fact in “03 during the major blackout in NY John’s was giving out free ice cream because it was going to melt anyway due to lack of of power.  BTW, this is a cash only place so make sure you have some dinero before you dine here.

Herb’s Market

herb's montauk

Only one of the yummiest bacon, egg, and cheese sandwiches.  It used to be my favorite around town but the bacon egg and cheese sandwich at the general store in Montauk beats it by a landslide.  This is one of my family’s traditions!  We go here for breakfast during our stay and after fishing trips in the fall!  They have decent coffee and fried chicken too.  Worth the stop in if you are in town!

The Movie

the movie

The movie was the only movie theatre in Montauk. It showed one movie at a time and changed the film about every two weeks.  Sadly, it has closed down and the building is now a Soul Cycle.  It’s ok because most people went to East Hampton to see movies anyway.  They have a larger theatre.  FYI I saw Wedding Crashers at the East Hampton theatre with my friends while my sister, mom, and friend’s mom saw March of the Penguins.  It was awesome.  My friends and I felt so cool because we were seeing an R rated movie.  Oh, how the teenage mind works.

The Montauk Bake Shoppe

bake shoppe

This is the only bakery in town and it has jelly croissants which are amazing with a cup of coffee. I am not a fan of the muffins because I find them too greasy.  Never tried any of their breakfast or lunch sandwiches so I cannot comment on those items.  But I will always stop in for some jelly crossings.  If you plan on visiting here get there early because the line is short, staff is friendlier, and your bare items will most likely be in stock.  The line and crowds get worse and longer as the morning wears on especially at peak breakfast times.

St. Therese of Lisieux 

st. terese

One of my favorite churches ever!  I have seen this church change over the years.  When we first started attending mass in the summers the service was held in the basement of the nursery school across the street.  Then the service moved into the new church which was built across the street. The church is absolutely stunning and is so pretty.  I love looking at all of the stained glass in the church especially the fish jumping out of the water.

 I want to get married at this church and in Montauk.  That is my non-negotiables.  Well, I do not have to have a church service but I definitely want to tie the knot int Montauk.  I do not care if it is just me and my fiancee but it has to happiness Montauk.  That has been my dream for years.  I love this place so much that I would get married here and I don’t care what it takes it will happen!

The Harvest

the harvest

One of thefts restaurants around.  it is a family style restaurant so the dishes are meant to be shared.  Have been here three times and loved it every time I have been here!  Most dishes I have had are delicious!  The best time to go is right around sunset because you get a fabulous view of the settings from some tables since it overlooks the lake.  This is a popular restaurant so definately make reservations before you go.  I look forward to the next time I get to dine here!

White’s Drugstore

whites

We have gone here to get the sunscreen and other toiletry needs we have forgotten.  We stop in every summer we go and just look around and sometimes purchase a thing or two.  Love looking around the store and it has not changed since I have been going t Montauk.

O’Murphy’s Pub & Restaurant (the original location)

o'murphys

Right down the block from White’s used to be O’Murphys Pub & Restaurant.  This place had the best mussels I have ever had!  I could eat them as my whole meal and then after dip bread in the remaining sauce.  O’Murphy’s still exists but the original location was in the heart of town.  It had a corner lot with a green glowing shamrock in the window.  Sadly, due to high rents O’Murphy’s  Pub & restaurant has moved farther out of town near Gosman’s dock.  But it is worth the drive to eat those mussels and shapers pie!  You must check out this place if you go to Montauk!  Best mussels around for sure!

Gosman’s Dock

gosmans

A bunch of shops and restaurants right near where the fishing and commercial  fishing boats dock.  I used to go here a lot more when I was younger and we would eat by the water.  We would not go to the restaurant but would order from the to go window and sit near the water.  When I was little we would always stop in the toy store which had a large boat wheel out front that you could drive!  It is a draw for the youngsters.  This is a great place to end a night and there is even a Ben and Jerry’s ice cream shop to get a sweet treat!  Part of the Montauk experience and place that is perfect to visit around sunset.

The Viking & The Lazy Bones

viking lazy bones

Every time we would come to Montauk my dad would take my sister and I on fishing trips.  We would go int he summer, fall, and on some weekends.  I have many memories fishing and learned a new skill.  i am by no means a fishing expert but do know how to bait a hook and cast a line out.  I am not afraid to get dirty or messy so fishing was no problem for me.  Both boats are family friendly especially The Lazy Bones which does day trips.  I have caught fluke, flounder, striped bass, bluefish, and even a tuna during my time fishing.  Take your kids, family, or significant other!  It is a fun thing to experience and it is always awesome to see people get their first fish!

The Dock

the dock 2 the dock

We heard about this hole in the wall place from a family camping friend.  We decided to give this place a shot and were not disappointed.  It is a simple place with interesting decor.  We go for the beer and nachos.  Their nachos are fully loaded, amazing, and can be a whole meal.  If you come to Dock’s be prepared to eat and have an empty stomach!  Now it is not a hole in the wall and tons of people know about Dock’s but we love going there and even hit it up after we drove all the way from the South.  I swear on that trip the wait staff probably thought we have not eaten in weeks.  I would do anything to go back and get a glass of beer and order of nachos!

The Montauk Yatch Club

yatch club

Now this is an expensive place to stay in Montauk!  It is pricey and used by the rich people but has beautiful views and rooms.  We stayed here for my parents anniversary weekend and loved it.  It was the same weekend as the Montauk St. Patrick’s day parade.   We had a room right on the lake/pond!  It was amazing and offered great views and plenty of photo ops.  Even if you do not stay for a weekend definitely  drive out here just to check it out.

Montauk Lighthouse

montauk montauk point lighthouse

We go here every year and climb the lighthouse!  It has amazing views of Montauk and the water on clear weather days.  There a few things that are traditions in my family that we do: sit on the large rock out front of the lighthouse and have our picture taken, climb the lighthouse, and climb the rocks surrounding the lighthouse.  We do all of those things overtime we go to Montauk.  I have been to the Lighthouse more times than I can count and all of them have been memorable.  This is one of my favorite spots in Montauk and I love driving all the way out here.  it is beautiful and it is the tip of Long Island.  You can not go any further or you will be in the water.

Leave a Reply

