Do you wanna leave soon?

marina

The title of this post is part of a quote taken from Marina Keegan’s book The Opposite of Loneliness.  She was an amazing woman and talented writer whose life was cut short too soon.  I discovered who Marina was and her work through an online article about her not long after death from after crash.  I was so intrigued that I ordered her book and it has become one of my favorites.  Since life got in the way I have forgotten about the book and Marina.  Recently, I was updating my quote book and saw that I had a page left for quotes form that book.  So I filled up the last page saved for that book. That is how I wound up thinking about the book again.  Her writing was outstanding, reflective, thought provoking, and there are so many memorable quotes that I recorded from the stories in the book.  This collection of Keegan’s stories is not to be missed!  Her story and the ones she wrote make me realize how truly short life is and how we need to impact our world to the best of our abilities.  She did just that while she was here!  Let’s take an example from Marina and live life to fullest everyday!!

Favorite Quotes by Marina Keegan 

*Not all from her book

 opposite

“I don’t have a word for the opposite of loneliness but if we did, I could say that’s what I want in life.”

“Do you wanna leave soon?  No, I want enough time to be in love with everything … And I cry because everything is so beautiful and so short.”

“We can’t, we must not lose this sense of possibility because in the end it’s all we have.”

“We have these impossible high standards and we’ll probably never live up to our perfect fantasies of our future selves.  But I feel like that’s okay.”

“We’re our own hardest critics and it’s easy to let ourselves down.  Sleeping to late.  procrastinating. Cutting corners.  More than once I’ve looked back on my high school self and thought: How did I do that? How did I work so hard? Our private insecurities follow us and will always follow us.”

Leave a Reply

