Banging Books: Summer Edition

Kick Kennedy: The Charmed Life and Tragic Death of The Favorite Kennedy: Barbara Leaming

kit

I have been reading so many good things about this book!  I enjoy reading about the lives of others and am very excited to dive into this book during the summertime. This intrigues me due to the focus of the book, about the life of a lesser known Kennedy, which is an unusual focus. I have noticed that a few months ago a book about Rosemary Kennedy, Rosemary: The Hidden Kennedy Daughter, so maybe this is trying to steal that books thunder. It is at the top of my summer reading list!

Paper Towns: John Green

paper towns

I have read most of his books but for some reason have skipped over Paper Towns.  So far, I have enjoyed reading his stories and have no doubt that this book will be good.  There have been tons of memorable quotes from the books I have read so far and that is always a plus for me.  I can not wait to read this story and  know that it will be an enjoyable and meaningful book.  After I finish this book I want to see the movie although I have heard mixed things about the film.

Brooklyn: Colm Toibin

brooklyn

First off the movie was absolutely amazing! It can be different from the book but I did not read the book yet so I cannot comment on similarities or differences.  The movie made me want to read the book and so I shall!  The book has gotten great reviews on Goodreads.  I have high hopes for this story and know that even if the movie was different from the book that I will not be disappointed! One the top of my summer reading list for sure!

The Assistants: Camille Perri

This just seems like a really interesting read for the summer season.  I think it will be neat to see what happens to the assistant in this story.  The focus is different than typical fiction books and that is why this book intrigues me.  Here’s to hoping this is a good and enjoyable read!

Losing It: Emma Rathborne

book

This book just seems really relatable to me at the moment. There might be things that I can relate to this in this book and that makes me want to read it even more. However, this might turn out to be a flop and a terrible book. This one has a 50-50 shot but I’m hoping it’s good. The topic is off the beaten path and not one that is usually written about or seen when I have been searching for a book to read. But I’ve never actually searched for a book on this topic so I guess that explains a lot of why I think this is such an uncommon topic. This will be a good summer book: I just know it!

Why We Came to the City: Christopher Jansma

9780525426608_custom-68750d65089a8609b0693c8080c45290087cf384-s300-c85

First off, this is takes place in the best city ever: NYC!  So, that alone automatically added it to my list of summer reads.  This follows the lives of four college friends as the navigate life, adulthood, relationships, work, and of course the city itself.  looks for a promising read and the reviews of this book have been great!  Also, this is relatable for me because I am a recent college graduate and have been going through life transitions and changing friendships amongst my group of friends.  This might be my favorite summer read: I hope!

Rich and Pretty: Rumaan Alam

41Rr7jCmnLL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

This sounds like the perfect book for me this summer!  I have been going through changing friendships with my closest friends during the past two years and some for the worse which totally sucks.  Was the author channeling my situation when this was written?  The theme is so relatable to me during my current state of life and it is also set in NYC.  I just have a thing for books set in NYC don’t I, it is probably because it’s my hometown.  Hopefully the book is a good as it sounds and the synopsis reads.  Fingers crossed for this story!

What books are you excited to read over the summer?  Have any that you recommend?

Leave a Reply

